Music Review: OM (Tamil)

Composer(s): N. R. Raghunanthan, Sharran Surya, Yuvan Shankar Raja
Listen to the songs online here: Saavn

Another long soundtrack, but this time composed by three different composers, including Yuvan Shankar Raja, who, after a long time, seems to be on a right track with back-to-back hits Peranbu and Pyaar Prema Kaadhal. And OM might as well be a hattrick, given how wildly inventive a semi-classical fusion Saattaiyin Munaiyil is, with Priya Himesh and Sai Shravanam lending pitch-perfect vocal support. Sharran Surya and N. R. Raghunanthan's songs that bookend the album are decidedly more mixed, the former's, too short to register, while the latter has more success in the beautifully tuned Ilaiyaraaja'esque melodies Anbulla Kadhala (and its second variant Idhayathin Thirayilae), Ilamayin Kaatil, Thoova Mazhai and Koodi Koodiyai. OM is an interesting hodgepodge of sounds, topped off with Yuvan's stunning highlight of a melody.