Music Review: Mohanlal (Malayalam)

Composer(s): Nihal Sadiq, Prakash Alex, Sajid Yahiya, Tony Joseph
Listen to the songs online here: Saavn

The euphonious Thoovenilla appears in three different versions (sounding best in the first, sung by Karthik), as does Va Va Vo Vaave (with actor Nithya Menen leading on the vocals) in two other variants, while Prarthana Indrajith takes over the singing reins in the simple-but-sweet ode to actor Mohanlal La La Laletta. Prakash Alex goes for a grungy jazz vibe in Aaranu Njhan that's doubtless arresting in Justin Fernandez's rendition, but the folky Naadum Vitte (Nihal Sadiq) and the massy fan anthem Changalla Changidipaane (set to tune by Prakash and the film's director Sajid Yahiya, an earworm it is alright!) doesn't quite hit the mark, sticking out like a sore thumb in an album that's otherwise packed with lovely melodies. Tony Joseph makes a noteworthy debut with Mohanlal!