Music Review: Trisha Illana Nayanthara (Tamil)

Composer(s): G. V. Prakash Kumar
Listen to the songs online here: Saavn

Bittu Padam Di is a grungy, raucous kuthu that mostly sails through, while Dakalti's saving grace turns out to be its wacky techno-rap-kuthu fusion, nothing else. The title song likewise is a quirky melange of traditional folk elements, sung well by Pushpavanam Kuppusamy. The Rain Dance's overpowering percussion aside, the soothing tin whistles offer an interesting contrast, as Yennachu Yedhachu, in G. V. Prakash Kumar, Kalyani Pradeep and Saindhavi's voices, works quite nicely as a romantic duet despite sounding similar to Minsara Kanavu's Vennilavae. Yuvan Shankar Raja gets to croon the folksy Mutham Kodutha Maayakari, the arrangements once again standing out in otherwise passable song. G. V. Prakash delivers a tepid soundtrack with Trisha Illana Nayanthara.