Music Review: Yaadhumaagi Nindraai (Tamil)

Composer(s): Achu Rajamani, Ashwin Vinayagamoorthy
Listen to the songs online here: Saavn

Ashwin Vinayagamoorthy's moderately engaging album opener Aritharam Poosi carries a quirky vibe that comes through well enough in Andony Dasan and Reetha's voices. His other two offerings, on the other hand, fare significantly better, with Sid Sriram and actor Dhanush (!) acing the simple but sweet guitary melodies Aagayam Thaayaga and Pudavai Nilave respectively. Achu Rajamani's serene lullaby Kannurangu is well complemented by Shakthisree Gopalan on the vocals, but it's the title song that's the soundtrack's highpoint. Incorporating sarod and flute, the tranquil composition, sung by Ala B Bala and the composer himself, is a total bliss-out. Achu Rajamani and Ashwin Vinayagamoorthy deliver the goods with Yaadhumaagi Nindraai.