Music Review: Kaakka Muttai (Tamil)

Composer(s): G. V. Prakash Kumar
Listen to the songs online here: Saavn

Edhai Ninaithom's mellow guitar-kazoo arrangements and G. V. Prakash's soothing vocals make the melody a mesmerising listen, while the composer blends kuthu and hip-hop elements in the passable Karuppu Karuppu. Maanjaave Kaanjaachu rides on Gaana Bala and Srihari's spotless vocals and a wonderful chorus, but it's Sel Sel that undeniably takes the cake for the soundtrack's best. Beautifully incorporating sarod, sitar and kazoo on the orchestral front, the gorgeous semi-classical melody is serene and singer D. Sathyaprakash hits all the right notes with his fantastic rendition. G. V. Prakash finally redeems himself with Kaakka Muttai!