Music Review: Nannbenda (Tamil)

Composer(s): Harris Jayaraj
Listen to the songs online here: Saavn

Vijay Prakash ably handles the tried-and-tested Harris Jayaraj tune Enai Marubadi Marubadi, while Unnikrishnan and Bombay Jayashri's nuanced delivery saves an otherwise predictable and Sundhari Neeyum Sundharan Njanum-like Oorellaam Unnai Kandu. Nee Sunno New Moono is a hodge-podge of so many Harris tracks from Ko, Ghajini, AnniyanIrandam Ulagam and several others that listing them in itself would be quite an exercise. But a lively dance number it is nonetheless! Neeraambal Poovae rides on Arjun Menon's breezy rendition, even if the song's needless ventures into rap is less than satisfactory. Dappankuthu Mettula is more a rehash of Aathangara Orathil (Yaan), and Thaene Thaene Sendhaene, despite Haricharan's earnest singing, reeks of Uyirile (Vettaiyaadu Vilaiyaadu). Nannbenda is another derivative album from Harris Jayaraj.